Book Review: Lark by Erica Cope

*I shall just mention that this is not the book that I mentioned in an earlier post*

Well, now we’ve got that little discalimer out of the way, let’s talk about the book I am actually reviewing, Lark. This is the blurb from Goodreads:

The last time she checked, Mia Carrington was pretty sure that she was a normal girl with a completely ordinary life.

She goes to high school, has a crush on the gorgeous and mysterious new boy in town, and has strange dreams that she can’t help but feel are real somehow.

Okay, so maybe she’s not all that normal after all.

A freak accident changes Mia’s life forever when she is thrown into another world and left to deal with the revelation that she is the daughter of the King of the Light Elves. Throw in an ominous prophecy predicting that Mia will break a curse unleashing the Dark Elves on the world and well, things don’t look too good.

There is danger lurking at every corner in this strange world and Mia isn’t sure who she can trust…
The only thing she is certain of is that the Dark Elves know about her, and they will stop at nothing until they have her.

From a reader-person’s point of view (as in, ‘did I enjoy it?’ rather than a writer’s point of view, ‘was the plot well thought out? was there any typos? was the voice consistent? etc’), I really liked this book. Mia was a reader, which was cool, and Grey was hot, as was Jacoby, the other love interest. The story was very original, with the Light Elves’ heaven and the Dark Elves’ hell, although parts of it were reminiscent of other books — the idea of elemental magic, for example, reminded me of both Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead and House of Night by PC and Kristen Cast, while the love triangle reminded me of the Trylle trilogy by Amanda Hocking, but that was almost a good thing, especially with a reader-type MC; I almost teared up from the sentimentality.

Now, I can almost hear you shouting something along the lines of, ‘plagiarism! plagiarism!’, and I agree. I was slightly uncomfortable as well. Now, I certainly don’t know the rules of plagiarism (or, rather, the laws against plagiary), so I can’t say anything.

I wasn’t joking; I can’t. Not about The Subject That Must Not Be Named, at least.

This is a class book, especially for a self-pub (which I don’t hate, by the way; I am planning on self-publishing myself). It is written pretty well, and, to say I currently have a bit of an estrangement problem with Young Adult Para/Romance, I read it. Like, all of it. I enjoyed it enough to stretch time; ‘bed time’, specifically. And I will most probably read the next one in the series.

From a writer’s point of view, however, things go slightly awry. Not by much — it is still a very enjoyable read — but things do go just a little bit wrong.

The characters all speak in a relatively stilted manner; there is a lack of shortened words that is quite annoying in the dialogue, and there is, occasionally, that sense of unsolicited honesty (‘I shall now pour my feelings for you out and into the world for no reason’) that you can see a lot of in self-pub and that I can see in my own writing which I like to attack with a hammer. I hate unsolicited honesty with a passion, because that’s not how people work; you’re more likely to have to fight for solicited honesty than you are to have another person’s feelings forced onto your lap.

Furthermore, to say Mia was a book-worm, she was shockingly bad at guessing the outcome of her own plotline. ‘Hmm,’ she would say to herself, ‘I shall leave the protection of Grey and Jacoby behind and go to a film. I am sure that nothing will happen to me just because this is the first time that I go out on my own.’ Which was just a touch irritating, especially when I was enjoying reading enough to care to do the whole ‘shout at screen’ cliche.

However, there was something about this book that made it insanely readable. It was strange.

And so, this book gets four stars. Or, as I like to call them here on the Relatively Curious blog…

Four Relatively Curious Question Marks

Four Relatively Curious Question Marks

Have a comment to add?

