Writing Should Be About Sweets

… and spice and everything nice and lovely. But sometimes it isn’t. Sometimes it’s about gruelling hard work on something that you currently hate for what might possibly be no recognition and nothing to show for it, when there are easier, shinier and nicer things to write. Sometimes it’s about persevering when you really, really don’t want to, or see the point of persevering.

The past few weeks have been one of those times for me.

You may remember that, not so long ago — a week, possibly — I moaned to you about having to change Lantern’s Fall and the end of an era with a kick-ass protag. Well, that post sincerely bummed me out. I’ve been trying to write as much as I can, but as the following picture might show you, I’ve not been having much luck (my daily goal was 1800 words but was chopped down to 1500 on day two or something).

Even bribery hasn't worked

All of my word counts (not including blog posts, because they are simply procrastination at this point)

I was hoping that I could get this novel re-drafted before NaNoCritMo without using July, which will be my time to start a new project and relax a bit, but that seems unlikely now. And yet, the time that this is taking tells me that I need a break from Lantern and her problems. I need a chance to get away from her bitchiness and do something different, so I can come back to it refreshed.

Whatever I decide, I know I need to persevere with this MS, even though it’s messy, and ridiculous, and confusing, and annoying, and lots of other things. Because Lantern, fictional or not, deserves to be heard and is worth listening to. As are all her friends, I imagine (though they need a lot more charcter-building work).

Today (the day I wrote this post, 26th June), I made a bit of a breakthrough with the novel. I got it back on track for where I’d plotted it to go and I found my love for what happens in it.

Now all I need to do is hope it sticks and hope I will stick to my promise to persevere.

Wish me luck.

Have a comment to add?

