Book Review: Bloodmagic (Blood Destiny 2) by Helen Harper

Blurb from Goodreads:

After escaping the claws of Corrigan, the Lord Alpha of the Brethren, Mack is trying to lead a quiet lonely life in Inverness in rural Scotland, away from anyone who might happen to be a shapeshifter. However, when she lands a job at an old bookstore owned by a mysterious elderly woman who not only has a familiar passion for herbal lore but also seems to know more than she should, Mack ends up caught in a maelstrom between the Ministry of Mages, the Fae and the Brethren.

Now she has to decide between staying hidden and facing the music, as well as confronting her real feelings for the green eyed power of Corrigan himself.

Right. Okay. It’s been a while since I read this, so bear with me…

Oh, yeah. I was disappointed in a way that is definitely a lot.

If you read my review for the first book, you’ll remember that there was NO romance whatsoever, and it ANNOYED ME.

Guess what?

NO FUCKING ROMANCE AGAIN.

Now, don’t get me wrong, my friends; everything I read doesn’t have to include snogging. ‘Snogging’ is my preferred genre, certainly, but that doesn’t mean I diss anything that doesn’t have romance in it. I will, however, diss authors who find it amusing or lucrative to string their readers along with promises of something that is so clearly put out there in the blurb. Sure, she does technically confront her feelings, but that doesn’t count for anything when no romantic entanglements ensue.

And that’s not even the only problem I have on the stringing-along side of things. The first book, for all its faults, was full of stuff happening. Book two? Not so much. Mack spends most of her time either hiding or *puts writer’s hat on* being a passive character who lets other people do everything for her. The fact that her new fairy friend a) has the utter hits for her and b) can teleport any which way he wishes just adds to the feeling of ‘this is all just a tiny too bit convenient’. Which makes me feel sorry for Helen Harper; I feel her pain. Passive characters and easy answers are almost impossible to escape from as a writer, especially if you’re as thick as I am, but you have to fight through it. FIGHT IT, people. Not let that easy answer and simpering, omnipotent character get to your final draft.

But like I said, it’s difficult, and I get that.

On the good side, however, the characters are still okay. The action, when there is any, is okay. The next book will still probably be added to my ‘read (but feel guilty about it)’ pile. But it’s just… not that good a book. Which is a shame.

So, this book gets:

Three Relatively Curious Question Marks

Three Relatively Curious Question Marks

PS: to the writer whose hat I put on, sorry. You can have it back now. I promise I don’t have nits.

Have a comment to add?

