Book Review: Biting Bad by Chloe Neill

Blurb from Goodreads:

Merit has been a vampire for only a short while, but she’s already seen a lifetime’s worth of trouble. She and her Master, centuries-old Ethan Sullivan, have risked their lives time and again to save the city they love. But not all of Chicago is loving them back.

Anti-vampire riots are erupting all over town, striking vampires where it hurts the most. A splinter group armed with Molotov cocktails and deep-seated hate is intent on clearing the fanged from the Windy City come hell or high water.

Merit and her allies rush to figure out who’s behind the attacks, who will be targeted next, and whether there’s any way to stop the wanton destruction. The battle for Chicago is just beginning, and Merit is running out of time.

This is book eight in the series. I have a personal rule that I don’t review halfway through a series, but I also have a rule about not reviewing a book I’ve read more than once or read the sequel to. I find that I often have to break one of these rules. So, if you haven’t read the last seven of these and think you might want to read an urban fantasy series about a girl that’s turned into a vampire and lives in Chicago and loves food more than her boyfriend, you might be better not reading this review because chances are there’s spoilers ahead. Note from the future me who has actually written part of the reivew now: THERE ARE DEFINITELY GOING TO BE GIANT SPOILERS FOR THE PREVIOUS BOOKS. DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THEM.

Okay, now the disclaimers are through: book eight. This is book eight. I couldn’t believe it. And I’m also not finished with the disclaimers: my view of this book might have been altered because I realised just before reading that there are loads of these things and they might go on indefinitely.

I love this series. I really do. But this book… felt a bit flat. The problem with having what should be the end of the series in just about all of the books is that it’s difficult to keep going. Ethan Sullivan died, and I wasn’t sure how the series could go on without the love interest (a new one turned up and he came back from the dead). I wondered how life could go on now that Merit and Ethan were together and seemingly completely okay with each other (he had some sort of puppet-like link to Mallory that conveniently stopped being mentioned later on and Jonah and the RG became a problem between them). I wondered how it would all work without the GP getting all up in their grill (the GP kept on getting up in their grill). But this book… Merit has battled angels. She’s seen the man she loves the most die… so why should a few riots be such a big deal? Especially since she spent the whole time saying that the rioters were idiots.

It would have been okay if this book was a little slower-paced than the last few; I could have dealt with it if they told each other, ‘this seems hard now, but have you seen all the other, way tougher stuff we’ve been through?’ But they didn’t. Instead, there was this giant feeling of dread and this-has-to-be-fixed-now throughout, and then… the end, we stopped it, it’s all fine, maybe the world isn’t going to collapse like we thought it would, and also we got through that dinner with the Merit family, so we should be happy. There didn’t feel to be anything to it.

Also, I didn’t understand the ending, but I won’t go itno that because it could be my ow stupidity and I’d read the book for you.

But like I said, I might feel like this because I realised how many of these books I have read. I thought of Vampire Academy and the six books that were just enough to fit in a hundred different things and a hundred different feelings without going stale; I thought of the Morganville Vampires series and how incredibly bored I became of them. Maybe these books aren’t the same genre, but they are all books, and they are all serieses, and at some point I’m going to have to write a post about the ends to serieses and also look up if serieses is a word or not.

I’ve gone off point, but what I was trying to say was that maybe the Chicagoland Vampires series needs to end. I hope it doesn’t, because there are still a lot of unanswered questions in this world that will taunt me forever if it does, but maybe it should.

This book gets…

q3

Three Relatively Curious Question Marks

Have a comment to add?

