GQ Challenge: Day 14

The Genderqueer Challenge is here.

14. Are you part of the Gender and Sexuality Minority community?

I’m going to say no on this one, just because people really don’t seem to use that term anymore. When it was used more often, I did use GSRM to describe the community I was part of. Nowadays, I would say that I’m part of the asexual community, part of the nonbinary community, part of the queer community and (kinda warily and whilst being unsure whether there’s any point anymore) part of the LGBTQ community. The ‘discourse’ on Tumblr has, unsurprisingly, worn me out to the point where I don’t much care about being a part of the LGBTQ community or not, but I still use the term because that’s the one that most places in the UK seem to use.

Of course, talking about these communities as if they’re really just one entity is a bit simplistic, as shown by the fact that a large proportion of LGBT societies and associations in UK unis support aces whilst a certain proportion of the online Tumblr community really doesn’t like us. Really, what I’m actually in is the WordPress and Tumblr ace communities, as well as to some extent the real-life UK ace community; the UK Twitter nonbinary community; the Tumblr queer community and kinda vague, collective idea of a queer community; and my local LGBT community in the form of friends and the uni LGBT+ association.

Have a comment to add?

